Subsection 11.—Yukon Territory and Northwest Territories

Yukon Territory.—The Yukon was created a separate Territory in June 1898 (see p. 59). Provision is made for a local government administered by a Commissioner appointed by the Governor in Council. There is an elected Council of seven members (1961) which usually meets twice each year in Whitehorse, the seat of local government; the Council elects its own speaker. The Commissioner administers the government under instructions from the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. The Commissioner in Council has power to make ordinances dealing with the imposition of local taxes, sale of liquor, preservation of game, establishment of territorial offices, maintenance of municipal institutions, issue of licences, incorporation of companies, solemnization of marriage, property and civil rights, and generally all matters of a local nature in the Territory. The Commissioner and Council in office on Apr. 30, 1964 were elected in 1961 for a three-year term.

GOVERNMENT OF THE YUKON TERRITORY (as at Apr. 30, 1964)

Commissioner	G. R. CAMERON
Members of the Council-	
Carmacks-Kluane	J. Livesey (Speaker)
Dawson	G. O. Shaw
Mayo	R. L. McKamey
Watson Lake	D. TAYLOR
Whitehorse East	HERBERT E. BOYD
Whitehorse North	K. McKinnon
Whitehorse West	J. WATT
Officers of the Council—	
Territorial Secretary and Clerk of the Council	H. J. TAYLOR
Territorial Treasurer	K. McKenzie
Legal Adviser	C. P. Hugnes

The Northern Administration Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, has the responsibility for the general administration of the natural resources of the Yukon Territory, except game. The Department maintains lands and mining offices at four points in the Territory. Other departments and agencies of the Federal Government, including the Department of Justice, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Departments of National Defence, Citizenship and Immigration, Mines and Technical Surveys, National Revenue, Transport, Post Office, Agriculture, Fisheries, and Public Works and the Unemployment Insurance Commission also maintain offices in the Yukon Territory.*

Northwest Territories.—As reconstituted on Sept. 1, 1905, the Northwest Territories comprise: (1) all that part of Canada north of the 60th parallel of north latitude, except the portions thereof within the Yukon Territory and the Provinces of Quebec and Newfoundland; and (2) the islands in Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay, except those islands within the Provinces of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

The Northwest Territories Act (RSC 1952, c. 331) provides for the appointment of a Commissioner to administer the government of the Territories under instructions given from time to time by the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. The Northwest Territories Act, as amended, also provides for a

^{*} Further information on officials of various Federal Government departments serving the Yukon Territory may be obtained from the Director, Northern Administration Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, Ottawa.